Preparation for the Testing


The SAT is a standardized test for college admissions in the United States. Nearly every college in America accepts the SAT or Subject Tests as a part of its admissions process. The SAT is administered by the private Educational Testing Service (ETS) in the United States and is developed by the College Board.

SAT consists of three major sections: Mathematics, Critical Reading, and Writing. Each section receives a score on the scale of 200-800. Total scores are calculated by adding up scores of the three sections. Each major section is divided into three parts. The test takes approximately 5 hours with 3 hours and 45 minutes of actual timed sections.


The ACT is a college-entrance achievement test produced by ACT, Inc. The ACT is typically used for college admissions, but some colleges also use it for course placement. Most colleges and universities treat the SAT and ACT the same.

The ACT measures what students have learned during high school, while the SAT tries to evaluate their innate academic ability.


The California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) is a requirement for high school graduation in the state of California, created by the California Department of Education to improve the academic performance of California high school students, and especially of high school graduates, in the areas of reading, writing, and mathematics.

Public school students must pass the exam before they can receive a high school diploma, regardless of any other graduation requirements.

The CAHSEE is divided into two main sections: English-language arts (ELA) and mathematics. The English section includes 72 multiple choice questions, and requires students to respond to a prompt with a 2 1/2 page essay. The mathematics section consists of 80 multiple choice questions. Scores are scaled out of a possible 450 points on each section.

The English section tests students at a 10th-grade level, and requires a score of 60% to pass; the mathematics section tests students at an 8th-grade level, and requires a score of 55% to pass. Students are offered six chances to pass the test, beginning in their sophomore year, and need only retake a section or sections they have not yet passed.


The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) is a standardized English test required for most students whose primary language is not English. TOEFL measures the ability of nonnative speakers of English to use and understand English as it is spoken, written, and heard in college and university settings.

The Internet-based TOEFL Test (TOEFL iBT) was introduced in 2005. TOEFL iBT tests all four language skills that are important for effective communication: speaking, listening, reading, and writing.

College Planning

Test Links


IECA logo Independent

IECA Associate Member